Applying Lagrange Multipliers to Optimization with Binary Variables

In summary, the speaker has an optimization problem with boundary conditions that typically requires the use of Lagrange multipliers. However, in this case, the variables involved can only be 0 or 1, making the use of Lagrange multipliers impossible. The speaker, who is a physicist, is seeking alternative solutions and one suggestion is to use a Monte Carlo method such as simulated annealing.
Angelos K
Dear all,

I have an optimization problem with boundary conditions, the type that is usually solved with Lagrange multipliers. But the (many) variables my function depends on can take only the values 0 and 1. Does anyone know how to apply Lagrange multipliers in this case?

I am a physicist, so my background is not the widest.

Thank you in advance!

Mathematics news on Phys.org
Well, you can't use Lagrange multipliers. Presumably there are too many variables to use exhaustive search, i.e. trying all 2n possibilities. In that case one possible solution is to use a Monte Carlo method such as http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simulated_annealing" [Broken].

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What are Lagrange multipliers on {0,1}?

Lagrange multipliers on {0,1} refer to a mathematical technique used to find the maximum or minimum value of a function subject to a set of constraints. The {0,1} refers to the fact that the variables in the function are only allowed to take on the values of 0 or 1. This technique was developed by mathematician Joseph-Louis Lagrange in the late 1700s.

2. When are Lagrange multipliers on {0,1} used?

Lagrange multipliers on {0,1} are typically used when optimizing a function subject to a set of constraints where the variables are binary (0 or 1). They are commonly used in economics, engineering, and other fields where optimization problems with binary variables arise.

3. What is the formula for Lagrange multipliers on {0,1}?