1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lagrangian Mechanics question

1. Mar 23, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    (i) A particle of mass m moves in the x - y plane. Its coordinates are x(t) and y(t).
    What is the kinetic energy of this particle?

(ii) The potential energy of this particle is V (y). The actual form of V will remain
    unspecied, except that it depends only on the y coordinate. Write down the Lagrangian
    for this particle. Obtain the equation of motion.

(iii) Apart from the energy, what other physical quantity is conserved, and why?

2. Relevant equations
    N/a

3. The attempt at a solution[/b
    Ok so I'm new to Lagrangian, anyway from what i understand would the kinetic energy just be? T(v)=1/2mv^2 ; where v = ydot, but i dont understand whether it is y dependant or x dependant, would it be y dependant because the potential energy given in part 2 is y dependant so they act in same plane?
    In part 2, L(y,v) = T(y,v)-V(y,v) ; where v=ydot, so
    after using the lagrangians equation d(mv)/dt=ydot since y is not specified?
    and for part 3 im taking a complete guess at momentum because F=ydot=dp/dt. No idea very stuck =/ if someone could explain would be much appreciated thanks.

Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 23, 2012 #2

BruceW

Homework Helper

starting with the first question: It tells you the coordinates are x and y. Don't think too much about this, what would be the speed of the particle? (don't think ahead to the next question)

4. Mar 23, 2012 #3
    speed of the particle is xdot? if its displacement is x. or ydot if its displacement is y =/

5. Mar 23, 2012 #4

BruceW

Homework Helper

and what about if it has some general displacement in x and/or y?