1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Language to take. Latin?

1. Apr 20, 2012 #1
    Hi, in this link I explain what my major is: https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=598357

Short version: Second semester physics major. I have a language requirement for three semesters of a language. I was thinking about taking latin because 1.) no conversation hours and 2.) Most people forget how to speak their language from college anyway and though I want to travel the world (possibly as a geophysicist), I don't know how much time I want to devote right now to learning a language and I think that know the language that most modern languages are derived from might help me if I ever want to pick up another language. I however no very little about what learning and taking latin actually entails. Maybe it'll benefit me more career- and life-wise to know a language I can speak.

One more thing. This is a little involved so feel free not to read this... At my school, each student has a liberal learning requirement that requires them to do 5 or 7 classes in the humanities and whatnot. There's another option that has about the same amount of classes called an interdisciplinary concentration. Because I hate all things writing, I decided to go down that path. Currently, I am pursuing a concentration in Cognitive Science which will expose me to some artificial intelligence and some other cool stuff. As a physics major, I am going to be pretty weighed down with courses and whatnot, so would it be smarter to do the easy liberal learning and be done with it or to keep with the concentration. Is there any way it would benefit me for grad school?