Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Laser theory

1. Apr 25, 2004 #1
    Hey guys,
    this is my first time posting here (so if there's already a thread about lasers, please direct me there)

Does anyone know a good source for the theory of lasers (specifically semiconductor lasers) at a second year undergrad level? I've looked at a number of books including Laser Fundamentals (Silvfast), Lasers: Theory and Practice (Hawkes/Latimer) but they both seem to be a little too advanced (for getting though them in a short period of time anyway)...anyone know a book/site that's to the point? I'd really appreciate it :)
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 18, 2005 #2
    Welcome to PF antiicon!

Try Howstuffworks for the very basics. Then maybe move on to laser FAQ

hope this helps...
  4. Mar 20, 2005 #3

Claude Bile

Science Advisor

I use "Lasers and Electro-Optics" by Davis.

5. Mar 21, 2005 #4
    If you're not interested in a highly mathematical treatment, I might suggest Kuhn's Laser Engineering. There is very little quantum as this book is tailored for engineering applications. It is easily accesible, and provides a nice overview.
    1.) Introduction to Lasers 2.) Energy States and Gain 3.) The Fabry-Perot Etalon 4.)Transverse Mode Properties 5.) Gain Saturation 6.) Transient Properties 7.) Introduction to Nonlinear Optics 8.) Supportive Technologies 9.) Conventional Gas Lasers 10.) Conventional Solid-State Lasers. 11) Transitional-Metal Solid-State Lasers 12.) Other Major Commercial Lasers
  6. May 14, 2005 #5
    could you give some web address that they were about history of gas laser !
    if you know post them in to this E:mail ...
  7. May 14, 2005 #6

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member