How Does the Tokamak Facilitate Nuclear Fusion?

• Thread starter joker_900
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Tokamak
In summary, The person is looking for resources on nuclear fusion and the Tokamak. They are a 3rd year Physics undergrad and have some knowledge of EM. A recommended book is "Introduction to Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion" by Francis Chen. Other useful resources include a brochure on ITER and the Wikipedia article on Tokamaks. Chen's book is considered a classic for this topic.
joker_900
Hi, I need to learn about nuclear fusion and how the Tokamak works. Can anyone recommend any books/texts/websites that would be useful? I am a 3rd year Physics undergrad and have done a reasonable amount of EM, to give you an idea of the level - I don't want a layman explanation but also not something I have no chance of deciphering.

Thanks very much.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I don't own a copy myself, but when I was starting to teach myself more about fusion I borrowed a copy of Francis Chen's "Introduction to Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion". I think it's the standard book to start with - at my university we used the professor's book (Weston Stacey's "Fusion and Technology" which was very expensive since only Georgia Tech uses it, the graduate class uses "Fusion Plasma Physics" which has a more reasonable price).

Intro to ITER -- http://www.jet.efda.org/documents/brochures/brighteroutlook.pdf

The wikipedia article has lots of links out -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tokamak

Chen is definitely the classic into book for this.

Last edited by a moderator:

1. What is a tokamak?

A tokamak is a machine used in nuclear fusion research to create a plasma, which is a state of matter where atoms are stripped of their electrons and become positively charged ions. The plasma is then heated to extremely high temperatures to initiate nuclear fusion reactions.

2. How does a tokamak work?