Learn Calculus: Resources for Beginners

In summary, the best calculus book is written by Spivak, but you should start with another book first before you try Lang's. The book by Lang will teach you all the prerequisites you need for later chapters in the book.
Abscissas
Hey I am trying to learn calculus and I don't know where to begin , I want to have a very firm grasp on it so if you could introduce me to some books on all different walks of calculus it would be appreciated. I have no prior calculus experience but do have algebra down for the most part and I think I am ready to keep advancing

Physics news on Phys.org
Hello,

The best calculus book out there is written by Spivak, I highly recommend that you go through it. But not immediately. The book tends to be quite difficult, and you're supposed to be familiar with the concepts already.

A book that I recommend to study now is Lang's "First course in Calculus". It's pretty theoretical, but not too theoretical. And there is no lack of practical problems. The book only really deals with single-variable calculus though, but if you know that well than multivariable is a very easy extension.

Thank you I've heard of Lang's first course to much now so I will get it and I will definitely try out that other book thank you very much

I actually learned calculus from a book called "teach yourself calculus" by Paul Abbott. I had the 1992 version. I didn't go past Algebra II in high school, so I had a lot of work to do before college to major in physics. The book introduced me to some of the ideas of limits, derivatives, and integrals, and it omitted some of the difficult formalism, like rigorous definitions of limits and proofs. It allowed me to go through important topics of calculus quickly. I learned the more rigorous formalism later when I finally went and took a calc course my freshman year.