1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Learning physics outside uni.

1. Sep 7, 2005 #1
    I've decided I definitely don't want to go back to school to learn physics, for various reasons (not the least of which I find it impossible to be guided by others). I'm wondering what affect my lack of formal education would have on my career prospects, as they relate to my knowledge of physics. Since you don't need lab training, can a self-taught physicist who knows as much if not more than one formally taught be as respected? Or is lacking a degree seen to be synonymous with lacking knowledge altogether?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 7, 2005 #2

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

IMHO, without a formal education, you have NO future as a physicist. No matter how much informal education you have you will not be able to compete for a job, with a total fool that has a degree from a reasonable university.... Note that very few total fools end up with a degree in physics, so you will not be competing with fools.

Any business will REQUIRE the piece of paper first, then you must prove you can do the job.

The next problem is that moving beyond a university sophomore level on your own will be some where between difficult and impossible. Much of advanced physics is learned as much by interaction with professors as it is from books.

4. Sep 7, 2005 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

"Since you don't need lab training, can a self-taught physicist who knows as much if not more than one formally taught be as respected?"