Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Learning relativity

1. Mar 9, 2004 #1
    Hi, I am an undergraduate engineering student and I was briefly introduced to relativity a couple years ago in a physics class. Since then, I was facinated with the subject. I want to try to learn relativity on my own time because my school don't offer any courses on it. I was wondering if you guys have any suggestion on where to start. Should I start by learning the math first, like tensors, differential geometry, and field theory? Or should I read books on relativity for beginners? Is there a good book that will introduce both? I want to understand this subject down to its last detail. Thanks for any inputs

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 9, 2004 #2

Science Advisor

If you have a rather good knowledge of SR you can try "A short course in General relativity" by J. Foster, J.D. Nightingale.
    It starts with an introduction of tensors and then goes on with the spacetime and paths of particles, the field equations of GR, the Schwarzschild solution, black holes, gravitational radiation and finally cosmology. There is also a brief repetition chapter about SR.
    Although the book contains a lot of math, you don´t need to know so much to be able to read it. Most of it is explained in the text.
  4. Mar 11, 2004 #3

Homework Helper

"Relativity: Special, General, and Cosmological" by Wolfgang Rindler is so far my favorite introductory text. It is quite recent, and it gives good intuitive conclusions at the end of the sections. I think you will need to be rather comfortable with calculus, and probably a little differenetial equations, though, to really get the meat of this book.

I advise that you get a good appreciation (not necessarily a good knowledge, but that wouldn't hurt) for field theory, or you may be swayed later on down the road by the anti-relativists.
  5. Mar 12, 2004 #4