1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Least Upper Bounds

1. Sep 17, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Given a set A that contains all numbers of the form, n/(n+1), where n is a positive integer,
    a.explain why the number 1.1 is not the lub of A.
    b.explain why the number 0.95 is no the lub of A.

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

a. Suppose 1.1 is the lub of A. Then it follows, from the least upper bound axiom, that
    i. 1.1 is an upper bound of A and ii. 1.1≤y, if y is an upper bound for A. Since there exists y<1.1, such as y=1.01, we can see that l.l is not the lub of A. Thus, a contradiction.

(I'm not sure if I formatted this proof accurately (as I'm fairly new to proofs)).

b.It follows in a similar manner to a., although here I will show the first property of the lub isn't satisfied. That is, the number is not a upper bound.

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 17, 2013 #2
    Are you sure you meant ".95 is not lub the of A"? Because then you could show 1/(2) < .95 and be done with it.

4. Sep 17, 2013 #3
    Your proof for part a is incredibly wordy and confusing. The "least upper bound axiom" (as I know it) is that every bounded set of real numbers has a least upper bound. What you said was the definition of least upper bound. Not to mention you didn't prove anything! How do you know 1.01 is an upper bound?

Part b, you actually have to show that there exists a number of the form n/(n+1)>.95. It should be easy to find such a number, but you should give a specific example.

I think you are falling into a trap of people new to proofs; trying to be as wordy and "formal" as possible. It's awkward and often you end up missing the entire point of the problem!