LED Light Wavelengths: What to Know for Photolysis Prevention

In summary: General Physics... thread, you'll be very happy you did.In summary, the LED lights do not have specific wavelengths like fluorescent lights, and the color is determined by the temperature.
Jcludwig
I work in a factory where we package pharmaceuticals. There are quiet a few products that are light sensitive to a certain wavelength. The lights in the older buildings are fluorescent and were have defined wavelength specification. The wavelength determined the color light/filters set in the room.

The issue I have is that the new buildings have LED lights and they do not have wavelengths. The color is determined by temperature. I can not find a way to correlate between the two to determine what kind of lights to use to prevent photolysis. Do they correlate or is this something that needs to be tested differently?

Biology news on Phys.org
Jcludwig said:
I work in a factory where we package pharmaceuticals. There are quiet a few products that are light sensitive to a certain wavelength. The lights in the older buildings are fluorescent and were have defined wavelength specification. The wavelength determined the color light/filters set in the room.

The issue I have is that the new buildings have LED lights and they do not have wavelengths. The color is determined by temperature. I can not find a way to correlate between the two to determine what kind of lights to use to prevent photolysis. Do they correlate or is this something that needs to be tested differently?
Welcome to the PF.:smile:

Can you link to the LED light datasheets? They should publish color temperature/wavelength plots...