Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Length Contraction Evidence?

1. Mar 14, 2009 #1

Mentallic

Homework Helper

So does there exist any evidence to support the theory of length contraction? I am aware of the overwhelming evidence to support time and mass dilation, but none for length.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2009 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

Time dilation and length contraction are two parts of the same thing, so when you observe one you are also observing the other. For example, when a particle in a particle accelerator takes longer to decay because of relativistif effects, it also travels a longer distance than it "should", based on the same effect. But in the frame of the particle, it does not travel a longer distance than it should.

4. Mar 14, 2009 #3
    I'm not an expert, but I'm quite sure length contraction follows directly from time dilation. A nice example are muons that come from the atmosphere. They have a very short lifetime, so without relativity you would assume that they would never be able to travel the, say, 10km in that time, but because of time delation it can. If you, however, look at the case from the perspective of the muon, the time is going at a 'normal' rate. The only way for the muon to reach the earth is if the distance were smaller (i.e. length contraction).

For the muon experiment, click:
    http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/HBASE/Relativ/muon.html

Last edited: Mar 14, 2009
  5. Mar 14, 2009 #4

Dale

Yes, particle accelerators work. The bunch length is contracted as predicted. Plus russ_watters and ImAnEngineer are correct.

6. Mar 14, 2009 #5

Mentallic

Homework Helper

Yes I'm aware that mass dilation and length contraction both originated from time dilation, which in turn is a bi-product of the assumption that the speed of light is always constant from any frame of reference.