Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Let me get this straight

1. Jan 12, 2013 #1
    Okay I am new to relativity. I have been reading some books. Let me see if I understand this correctly. Consider the following scenario. There are 2 observers or inertial fames. They are moving apart at a constant velocity. Each ovserver can consider itself at rest relative to the other. Observers move through spacetime at the speed of light. In each relative frame the following can be considered true. Motion is converted from the time dimension into space through adjacent frames of symmetry, so that each observer can consider the other as falling over a sort of horizon as frames transate. These distortions are from the perspective of each observer a sort of fleshing out of an underlying symmetry in which mirror images or probability zones can be considered equal even though they are kind of negative opposite. Sorry if I am not very coherent, but am I on the right track?

Last edited: Jan 12, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 12, 2013 #2

Drakkith

Staff: Mentor

I may not be up to speed on SR and GR like many here, but I think I know a little bit about the basics, and I literally have no idea what you are trying to say after about halfway down. Start with JUST basic SR and use terminology JUST from there.

4. Jan 12, 2013 #3
    Sorry I don't know all the terms, I am hoping to learn by being corrected. I have only read a few layperson targetted books that use analogies to describe the theories. I am not even sure I understand the difference between SR and GR. SR is a kind of 'freeze frame' or contour line of symmetry (sorry only basic math here) within the greater framework of GR in which the speed of light remains constant no matter where it is observed from in those frames? Sorry if this is confusing.