1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Letter of Recommendations/Networking

1. Oct 22, 2005 #1
    I have heard from many of my fellow upper classmates who have graduated and gone to work in the industry that a college degree mainly gets you into the door and that networking with people in the industry goes a long way. I am currently a third year undergrad studying computer engineering. I have no actual relevant experience in this field and I am not sure I should pursue an intership or co-op. This is because I plan to take classes during the summer so I can graduate in time. An internship and especially a co-op would definately delay my graduation. Can anyone tell me a little about internships and co-ops?

Also I am applying for my campus's scholarships. In my three years here as a student, I have never recieved a scholarship for my academic accomplishments. I have a very strong gpa (3.84), and I am making good progress towards my degree. However I must say that I do not have time between labs, engineering homework, and studying to do any extracurricular activities. Along with that, I do not have a strong contact with most of my professors. How much does a recomendation from a professor matter? Especially if that professor is the head of a department?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 22, 2005 #2

Dr Transport

Science Advisor
    Gold Member