Can Principal Bundles Help with Lie Group Decomposition?

In summary, there is a debate about whether all Lie groups can be written as the semidirect product of a connected Lie group and a discrete Lie group. However, this has been proven to be difficult and a new approach using principal bundles has been suggested. It has been proven that a principal G_e-bundle exists, but it is unclear how this will help in solving the original problem.
Pond Dragon
Long time reader, first time poster.

Originally, it was my contention that all Lie groups could be written as the semidirect product of a connected Lie group and a discrete Lie group. However, I no longer believe this is true.

The next best thing I could think of was to say that a Lie group is diffeomorphic to the (smooth) product manifold of a connected Lie group and a discrete one. This is proving to be difficult!

I'm a bit new to using general fiber bundles (I've only ever used vector bundles before!), but a friend of mine recommended me to use principal bundles. I've proven that ##\pi:G\to G/G_\mathrm{e}##, where ##G_\mathrm{e}## is the identity component of a Lie group ##G##, is a principal ##G_\mathrm{e}##-bundle. However, I really don't know what use this is to me.

Could someone explain how this is a step in the right direction?

Edit: Is there a particular way to get the LaTeX to render? It isn't working...
Edit2: In another post, display math works. What about inline...?
Edit3: Crisis averted.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Clearly, I am an idiot.

To those who might come looking for this thread later: principal bundles are nice, but it is easier to simply note that the connected components of a Lie group are diffeomorphic. :redface:

1. What is a Lie Group Decomposition?