1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Life as a Physicist or Engineer

1. Aug 2, 2013 #1
    I am a college freshman, and I was just wondering what the work environment and nature of work was like for a physicist and an engineer. I am most interested in hearing about all types of physicists (but I find particle physics fascinating) and electrical and mechanical engineer but all other input is appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 2, 2013 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

I talk some about EE work in this bio thread:

https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=684732

:smile:

4. Aug 3, 2013 #3
    I think electrical engineering is cool, but I am not as interested in things radio, transceivers, comm transformers, and power circuits. I am more into electronics, like heads up displays, mp3 players, and stuff. I am most interested in robotics though. I think it is so cool. Is robotics and electronics possible with an electrical engineering degree?

5. Aug 4, 2013 #4
    There is a program that some universities are getting into it; it is called mechatronics.

It is a cross between electrical and mechanical engineering. I think it is mostly designed for robotics.

6. Aug 4, 2013 #5
    My school doesn't offer this concentration.. just electrical and mechanical separate

7. Aug 4, 2013 #6

StatGuy2000

Education Advisor

A simple answer to your question is yes, it is possible to work in robotics with an electrical engineering degree. At the University of Toronto (my alma mater), for example, there is a research group within the electrical engineering department that specializes in control systems, which is closely related to robotics.

http://www.control.utoronto.ca/