1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Limit Help

1. Oct 9, 2005 #1
    This is a worked example in the book, but i cant figure out why it is this way.

Using [tex] 0 < (x-a) < \delta [/tex] and [tex] (f(x)-L) < \epsilon [/tex] for [tex] lim_(x\rightarrow a) f(x) = L [/tex].

Prove that [tex] lim_{x\rightarrow2} (4x-3) = 5 [/tex]

I can understand the steps until

[tex] {4} (x-2) < \epsilon [/tex] and [tex] 0 < (x-2) < \delta [/tex]

then, they suddenly get, [tex] \epsilon = \delta/4 [/tex]......

Cant really understand how they arrive at there, and they don't even show that the the limit is 5.

I'm self taught too, so my understanding might be a little wrong.
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 9, 2005 #2

Homework Helper

[tex]\lim_{x\rightarrow a}f(x)=L[/tex]
    means in words
    f(x) can be made as close to L as desired by making x sufficiently close to a.
    (I will use d and h instead of greak leters)
    so we want f(x) close to L
    that is we chose some h>0 and we desire that
    when x is close to a
    we make this concrete by saying
    that is we look for a condition on the closeness to a that will assure f(x) is close to L. In general this condition depends upon h.
    so in the problem at hand
    this is assured if
    by definition (if the limit exist) the condition is expressed
    thus we have proven the given limit
    any smaller d(h) would also do
    so d(h)=h/9999999999999999
    for example would do
    the idea is just we want to bound f(x) near a
    we know f(1.999)=4.996 say
    or f(about 2)=about 5
    so we want to know for what x is 4x-3 within h of 5
    we see that it will be true when |x-2|<h/2
    or we could say
    so we have a relation between closeness of x to a and closeness of f(x) to L