Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Homework Help: Limit Help

1. Oct 9, 2005 #1
    This is a worked example in the book, but i cant figure out why it is this way.

Using [tex] 0 < (x-a) < \delta [/tex] and [tex] (f(x)-L) < \epsilon [/tex] for [tex] lim_(x\rightarrow a) f(x) = L [/tex].

Prove that [tex] lim_{x\rightarrow2} (4x-3) = 5 [/tex]

I can understand the steps until

[tex] {4} (x-2) < \epsilon [/tex] and [tex] 0 < (x-2) < \delta [/tex]

then, they suddenly get, [tex] \epsilon = \delta/4 [/tex]......

Cant really understand how they arrive at there, and they don't even show that the the limit is 5.

I'm self taught too, so my understanding might be a little wrong.

Last edited: Oct 9, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 9, 2005 #2

lurflurf

Homework Helper

[tex]\lim_{x\rightarrow a}f(x)=L[/tex]
    means in words
    f(x) can be made as close to L as desired by making x sufficiently close to a.
    (I will use d and h instead of greak leters)
    so we want f(x) close to L
    that is we chose some h>0 and we desire that
    |f(x)-L|<h
    when x is close to a
    we make this concrete by saying
    |f(x)-L|<h
    whenever
    0<|x-a|<d(h)
    that is we look for a condition on the closeness to a that will assure f(x) is close to L. In general this condition depends upon h.
    so in the problem at hand
    f(x)=4x-3
    a=2
    L=5
    so
    |f(x)-L|=|4x-3-5|=|4x-8|=4|x-2|<h
    this is assured if
    |x-2|<h/4
    by definition (if the limit exist) the condition is expressed
    0<|x-2|<d(h)
    d(h)=h/4
    thus we have proven the given limit
    any smaller d(h) would also do
    so d(h)=h/9999999999999999
    for example would do
    the idea is just we want to bound f(x) near a
    we know f(1.999)=4.996 say
    or f(about 2)=about 5
    so we want to know for what x is 4x-3 within h of 5
    we see that it will be true when |x-2|<h/2