1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Linear Algebra

1. Oct 3, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I'm studying for my linear algebra midterm, one of the challenge questions from my textbook is as follows:

Using the procedure of Example 8 of Chapter 2.3, find whether or not {(0,1,0,1),(-1,1,4,1),(-1,0,2,2)} is or is not a basis for the hyperplane 4[itex]x_{1}[/itex]-[itex]x_{2}[/itex]+[itex]x_{3}[/itex]+[itex]x_{4}[/itex]=0 in [itex]ℝ^{n}[/itex]

Example 8:
    Show that [itex]\beta[/itex]={[1,2,-1],[1,1,1]} is a basis for the plane -3[itex]x_{1}[/itex]+2[itex]x_{2}[/itex]+[itex]x_{3}[/itex]=0

We observe that [itex]\beta[/itex] is clearly linearly independent since neither vector is a scalar multiple of the other. Thus, we need to show that every vector in the plane can be written as a linear combination of the vectors in [itex]\beta[/itex]. To do this, observe that any vector [itex]\vec{X}[/itex] in the plane must satisfy the condition of the plane. Hence, every vector in the plane has the form
    [itex]\vec{X}[/itex] = [([itex]x_{1}[/itex]),([itex]x_{2}[/itex]),(3[itex]x_{1}[/itex]-2[itex]x_{2}[/itex])]
    Since [itex]x_{3}[/itex]=3[itex]x_{1}[/itex]-2[itex]x_{2}[/itex]
    Therefore, we now just need to show that the equation
    t1(1,2,-1)+t2(1,1,1)=[([itex]x_{1}[/itex]),([itex]x_{2}[/itex]),(3[itex]x_{1}[/itex]-2[itex]x_{2}[/itex])]
    is always consistent
    Row reducing the corresponding augmented matrix gives
    [(1,0,0), (1,1,0)|(([itex]x_{1}[/itex]),(2[itex]x_{1}[/itex]-[itex]x_{2}[/itex]),(0))]

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution
    I'm not entirely sure where to start with this one. I've been working really hard in this class, but it's not sticking. Thank you

2. jcsd