Proving SL(2,R) is a Subgroup of GL(2,R)

• Thread starter mattmns
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Subgroup
In summary, I have a problem that statesThe Special linear group by: (Let R denote real numbers)SL(2,R) = \{ A\in GL(2,R): det(A)=1\}Prove that SL(2,R) is a subgroup of GL(2,R).H is a subset of G consisting of all 2x2 matrices that have determinant 1.The identity matrix is in H.If x and y are in H, then it means det(x) = 1 and det(y) = 1, so what can you say about det(xy)?If det
mattmns
I have a problem that states

Define the Special linear group by: (Let R denote real numbers)

[tex]SL(2,R) = \{ A\in GL(2,R): det(A)=1\}[/tex]

Prove that SL(2,R) is a subgroup of GL(2,R).

___

Now a subset H of a group G is a subgroup if:
i) [tex]1 \in H[/tex]
ii) if [tex] x,y \in H[/tex], then [tex]xy \in H[/tex]
iii) if [tex]if x\in H[/tex], then [tex]x^{-1} \in H[/tex]

I have very little knowledge of matricies and I don't even see how 1 could be in SL(2,R), other than maybe something saying that GL(2,R) has 1, so SL(2,R) must have it too, but I bet there is a more appropriate way.

Also what would H be here? Would it a set containing matricies or numbers?

Physics news on Phys.org
In your case you should identify G with the group/set GL(2) and H with the group/set (to be proved) SL(2). G is the set of all 2x2 matrices with real entries, and H is the subset of G consisting of all 2x2 matrices that have determinant 1. When trying to prove something is in H, you've got to figure out it if its determinant is 1, right? So you're goal is always to show that the determinant is 1 when trying to prove that something is a member of H.

First, is the identity in H? H is the set of all 2x2 matrices with unit determinant, so does I fit the bill?

Second, if x and y are in H, then it means det(x) = 1 and det(y) = 1, so what can you say about det(xy)?

Third, if det(x) = 1, then what can you say about det(x^-1)?

So 1 is not in H then.

1 is instead the identity matrix: