What are some obscure but useful Linux software for PhD students?

In summary: There is also the MATLAB software from MathWorks.Anything else you think the reader would find helpful?In summary, the PhD student recommends a compiler, source material, and software for CFD, visualizing simulations, and command line usage.
RobosaurusRex
Hi,

I am a PhD student studying fluid dynamics, and have a heavy interest in numerical programming and simulations. I come from a background in Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics.

I have an ubuntu system set up and I have the typical software I plan to be using regularly, ie MATLAB, Python, LaTeX.

Is there any useful/fun software you guys recommend that either is obscure or something not many people would think of? Anything relevant to maths/physics or even just admin related to PhD is much appreciated!

Even any coding languages which you think would be of worth, please throw them down to.

Thanks!

Technology news on Phys.org
If you are doing CFD, you need a compiler for your code, C++ or FORTRAN because CFD unstructured grids take an immense amount of time to run and converge to a reasonable answer. Matlab is OK for initial algorithm development.

There is also the Anaconda python distro that is very popular as it has many of the key python modules configured in.

Directions here:

http://quant-econ.net/py/getting_started.html

It can also run Julia numerical programming as well.

http://quant-econ.net/jl/index.html

Dr Transport said:
If you are doing CFD, you need a compiler for your code, C++ or FORTRAN because CFD unstructured grids take an immense amount of time to run and converge to a reasonable answer. Matlab is OK for initial algorithm development.

Do you have any recommendations for source material to a novice of fortran

Thousands of sites online... and if your professor is older than 40, they most likely wrote fortran in the past.