How can I improve the accuracy of my load cell signal output?

In summary, the conversation discusses the use of a load cell, which is a wheatstone bridge strain gauge, and the need to provide it with 9Vdc or 12Vdc excitation voltage. The output from the load cell is recorded using a NI USB 6009 DAQ. The goal is to maximize the sampling rate and improve the output accuracy, which requires "zeroing" the output voltage and scaling it up to +/- 10V. The suggested solution is to use a low noise op-amp or an instrumentation amplifier. Additional information on the load cell's input and output resistance is also provided.
elixirnova
Howdy,

I am a mechanical engineering student with limited circuitry knowledge to start...

Anyhow I have a [-500,+500]lbf load cell that is essentially a wheatstone bridge strain gauge. I want to give it either 9Vdc or 12Vdc excitation voltage since I have a regulated power supply that can output those voltages. The load cell is rated for 10V excitation with a maximum of 15V though.

Anyhow here is my problem. I am using a NI USB 6009 DAQ to record the voltage output from the load cell. At zero load I tested the voltage outputs for both 9V and 12V input excitation voltages.
9V input -> 4.19V output
12V input -> 5.65V output

The Full Scale range of operation I hope to use this load cell in would result in a maximum/minimum increase in output voltage to
9V input -> 4.19V +/- 0.027V output
12V input -> 5.65V +/- 0.036V output

The other device I have is the USB 6009 DAQ that can ready +/- 10Vdc but it has limited resolution, if I hook the system up to the DAQ without conditioning the output signal I only get +/-5lbf output accuracy and that is when sampling at 1hz. I would like to maximize how fast I can sample and greatly improve the output accuracy. So I figure I need to "zero" the output voltage with a circuit and I suppose scale the output up to +/- 10V.