Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Locating stars

1. Sep 19, 2004 #1
    hey guys.. well i am new in astronomy.
    kinda under age.. still 17
    but soon i am going to get a new telescope
    and the problem is that i hear a lot about
    "magnitude" and "latitude"
    but the problem is that i don't know how to deal with
    so please i would appreciate if someone can help
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2004 #2
    I think a good book will solve your problem.'NightWatch' by Terence Dickinson is often recommemded for beginners in astronomy.

One thing I would ask you to do is not to go for a telescope immediately. If you are unfamiliar with the sky, pointing the telescope at a particular star or galaxy will be a daunting task. Try to learn the constellations out there and the brightest stars. Your eyes would give you the widest view of the sky, then you can proceed to binoculars which will help you to find out star clusters, a few nebulae and galaxies. If you can
    find your way through the skies, then you can decide upon your telescope. By that time, your taste might have changed i.e you may interested in lunar and planetary viewing than deep sky or vice-versa.

A few websites that gives good introduction to astronomy...

Hope this helps
  4. Sep 19, 2004 #3

Gold Member

Excellent advice! Don't buy a telescope yet. Study the basics a bit, so that you understand the terms like magnitude, declination, angular separation, etc, then read some introductory articles to see where your interests might lie, at least to start (you will get side-tracked!)