1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Logic and proof method.

1. Sep 15, 2008 #1
    Hi, I am a french Student in pures sciences. so its a bit hard for me to express myself in english, but I will do my best.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

Three hundred (300) persons are placed in thirty (3) rows and ten (10) columns. We choose the tallest person of each ROW. Then, we take the smallest person of those thirty (30) persons. On the other hand, we take the smallest person of each columns. Then we take the tallest person of those ten (10) persons.

Who is the tallest, the smallest of the tallest or the tallest of the smallest?

2. Relevant equations

There are none. i just started my course and, except the logic fonctions, we didn't see any formrulas or equations.

3. The attempt at a solution

I drawed a table and tried to do a formula.. but i don't even know where to start! its my 3th course and i never saw logic problem like this before. I guess we suppose that the tallests are the smallest of the tallest, and, with the principle of the locomotive (this means that if it work for V=1, than i should work for V=2 and so on..) prove that it works for everything..

Min(MAX) > (or equal than) Max(MIN)

What do you think?

Sorry for my english, I hope I am being understood.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 15, 2008 #2

dlgoff

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Since you have all the tallest from each row, doesn't that mean there aren't any more that are taller than these?
    edit: No. This isn't true. Sorry

4. Sep 15, 2008 #3
    I found the solution! Well Now i have to "explain" it!

I went to excel and I made a table 10 * 30 with organized numbers (1,2,3,4........300)

It gave me the same.