Logical result of a collision

• Thread starter zpodnisn
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Collision
In summary, the conversation discusses a theoretical problem of determining the motion and energy absorption of two solid objects colliding. The objects have a regular pyramidal frustum shape and collide with their tops. The known factors for the objects include their materials, surface of base/top, mass or height, velocity, and base friction. The conversation also mentions examples of different scenarios and their expected results. The problem is open-ended, but the speaker is seeking opinions on possible algorithms to solve it.
Hello,

I'm sorry that I can't format the thread as intended and for very likely misuse of terms, but I'm a programmer barely remembering anything form physics (and non-native english speaker to boot), and I have a theoretical problem, not an actual homework. However I believe the problem is quite simple.

The problem itself:

two objects collide, I need to get a "logical result" of the collision - motion, energy absorption / damage.

Assumptions:

objects are solid (composed from one material)
objects have shape of regular pyramidal frustum, collide with tops
motion vectors are directly opposite, centres of mass are residing on a line and stay on the line after collision

Known for objects:

materials
surface of base / top
mass or height
velocity
base friction

everything else can be ignored or have a default value assumed

Examples:

a thrown pebble hits a wooden crate. Results: pebble is bounced back
a thrown axe hits a wooden crate. Results: crate is cut, axe stopped
a fired bullet hits a wooden crate. Results: crate is pierced, bullet continues moving
a stopping car hits a wooden crate. Results: crate is bounced forward and takes impact damage

If you don't have time/will to provide exact algorithms and formulas, I'd appreciate any opinions on the problem solvability and possible algorithms.

Physics news on Phys.org
The problem is too open.