Why do objects appear shorter and clocks run slower in space stations?

In summary: So in general, the faster someone is moving, the slower their clock looks to other observers. However, this is only true if the observers are in the same space and the person is moving at the same speed as the clock. If someone is moving at a different speed, their clock will look faster to the other observer.
MotoH
Since the lorentz transformations do not change an object in the z and y directions, but it does in the x direction, is this why a ruler looks shorter in the space station example? (same everything on each station, one moving by your IFR) Also is it why the clock appears to be running slower than your own?

Sorry if I am a little vague, I am new to relativity!

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi MotoH! :smile:
MotoH said:
Since the lorentz transformations do not change an object in the z and y directions, but it does in the x direction, is this why a ruler looks shorter in the space station example? (same everything on each station, one moving by your IFR) Also is it why the clock appears to be running slower than your own?

Yes, and yes. :wink:

Thanks for the reply!

Just to clarify, from what I understand (correct me if I am wrong please!)

If you were following a laser beam at say 80% the speed of light, your clock would have to slow down by 80% to keep the speed of light a constant, so anyone who is looking at you from their IFR see's your clock moving 80% slower than yours.

And you see the other peoples clocks at running 80% faster than yours?

MotoH said:
And you see the other peoples clocks at running 80% faster than yours?

No, you "see" their clocks as running slower than your own, by the same amount that they "see" your clocks as running slower than their own.

And the clocks will be at 60%, not 80%, because 0.6 = √(1 - 0.82). :wink:

Don't look at my awesome painting skills to long, I don't want you to get jealous!
srelativity.png