1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lorentz Transformations

1. Sep 5, 2013 #1
    1.Hey, I am rather stuck on this question which you can see in the attached PDF. Now I began by taylor expanding the Lorentz Gamma factor (γ), up to second order and inserting this into the equation wherever I saw the gamma function, then rearranging. But I can't seem to get a function for F, for me my F comes out to be 1/2

2. The relevant equations can be seen in the PDF

3. I'm new to this, so not sure how to write it all out, however I did a taylor expansion of gamma, then substituted and rearranged and ended up with F as 1/2. I know this is wrong as obviously this would act on the y and z components which it shouldn't, as they are not affected by the transformation.

Attached Files:

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 5, 2013 #2
    Hi smallgirl. Welcome to Physics Forums.

Try making use of equations 1 and 2, and getting [itex]Δ'\phi '-Δ\phi[/itex]. This should lead to partials with respect to t and t' only.

4. Sep 5, 2013 #3
    Hey,

I don't understand the reasoning in doing this...

5. Sep 5, 2013 #4
    [tex]Δ'\phi'=Δ\phi+\frac{1}{c^2}(\frac{\partial ^2\phi'}{\partial t'^2}-\frac{\partial ^2\phi}{\partial t^2})[/tex]
    The only thing you need to do is transform [itex]\frac{\partial ^2\phi'}{\partial t'^2}[/itex] to the non-primed coordinate system.

EDIT: I corrected a minor error in the earlier version of this response.

Last edited: Sep 6, 2013
  6. Sep 6, 2013 #5
    Would this give me the function F?

7. Sep 6, 2013 #6
    Ok so I've been staring at it for a while, not sure how to get ∂2ϕ′/∂t′2 to the non-primed coordinate system

8. Sep 6, 2013 #7
    For an arbitrary function f,
    [tex]df=\frac{\partial f}{\partial t}dt+\frac{\partial f}{\partial x}dx[/tex]