What is the function for F in Lorentz Transformations?

In summary, smallgirl is struggling with a question relating to the Lorentz Gamma factor, and has arrived at an approximate solution by Taylor expanding the Lorentz Gamma factor and substituting in.
smallgirl
1.Hey, I am rather stuck on this question which you can see in the attached PDF. Now I began by taylor expanding the Lorentz Gamma factor (γ), up to second order and inserting this into the equation wherever I saw the gamma function, then rearranging. But I can't seem to get a function for F, for me my F comes out to be 1/2

2. The relevant equations can be seen in the PDF

3. I'm new to this, so not sure how to write it all out, however I did a taylor expansion of gamma, then substituted and rearranged and ended up with F as 1/2. I know this is wrong as obviously this would act on the y and z components which it shouldn't, as they are not affected by the transformation.

Attachments

• comment05Sept(1).pdf
    16.5 KB · Views: 231
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi smallgirl. Welcome to Physics Forums.

Try making use of equations 1 and 2, and getting [itex]Δ'\phi '-Δ\phi[/itex]. This should lead to partials with respect to t and t' only.

Hey,

I don't understand the reasoning in doing this...

smallgirl said:
Hey,

I don't understand the reasoning in doing this...

[tex]Δ'\phi'=Δ\phi+\frac{1}{c^2}(\frac{\partial ^2\phi'}{\partial t'^2}-\frac{\partial ^2\phi}{\partial t^2})[/tex]
The only thing you need to do is transform [itex]\frac{\partial ^2\phi'}{\partial t'^2}[/itex] to the non-primed coordinate system.

EDIT: I corrected a minor error in the earlier version of this response.

Last edited:
Would this give me the function F?

Ok so I've been staring at it for a while, not sure how to get ∂2ϕ′/∂t′2 to the non-primed coordinate system

smallgirl said:
Ok so I've been staring at it for a while, not sure how to get ∂2ϕ′/∂t′2 to the non-primed coordinate system
For an arbitrary function f,