1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Losing interest

1. Oct 26, 2009 #1
    I'm only a freshman in college so I still have plenty of time to decide but I'm sort of worried by my E&M class. I adored AP Physics in high school and I really wanted to pursue it. Now I'm taking E&M in college and it doesn't seem nearly as interesting. Could it just be because I already took most of this material last year?
    In Physics I feel like all we are doing is getting equations and rearranging them.
    I'm leaning towards straight mathematics now because my Calc class seems so much more interesting.
    The Calc class covers mostly methods for solving integrals, some ODE, and series etc. I feel like the math is truly making me think more critically in new ways while the physics is just plug n' chug.

So my question is if anyone has felt similarly? Is it just because its a lower level course?
    Will the flame rekindle once I go to classes that involves more math besides algebra and
    basic integrals?

I feel like I only loved Physics because of the math...But If I were to be a mathematician I think I would go crazy because while I enjoy how abstract it is I would like some grounding in reality.

I feel like I'm asking for ways to stay in love with my wife :)

Thanks for any responses.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2009 #2