Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Low Rank Approximation

1. Dec 5, 2013 #1
    I'm studying low rank approximation by way of SVD and I'm having trouble understanding how the result matrix has lower rank. For instance, in the link the calculation performed on page 11 resulting in the so-called low rank approximation on page 12. This matrix on page 12 doesn't appear to me to be of rank 2 as one would think. I would expect only 2 linearly independent row vector. When I put it back into a calculator it is still rank 9.

http://lsa.colorado.edu/papers/dp1.LSAintro.pdf

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 5, 2013 #2
    This is hard for me to word.

Basically, this explanation of low-rank approximation says the new m x n matrix should have rank r is not something I'm seeing in the Latent Semantic Indexing examples out there. They are coming up with new matrices that to me look like they have higher rank than r.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-rank_approximation

4. Dec 5, 2013 #3

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

The matrix on page 12 is only printed to 2 significant figures, so if you copied and pasted those numbers into a calculator, most likely the matrix wound be "rank 9" because of the rounding errors introduced.

The matrix on page is actually the product W (12 x 2) . S (2 x 2) . P' (2 x 9) where the ( ) are the dimensions of each matrix and the relevant parts of the full W S and P matrices are shaded on page 11.

Of course the full W and P matrices on page 11 are only shown to two significant figures as well. If you check whether W and P are orthonormal using those rounded values, you will probably find the "zero" terms are of order 0.0001 or worse.

If you want to do a numerical check for orthogonality, you really need to calculate the SVD yourself to 16 significant figures in double precision arithmetic, and work with that.