1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lucas-Lehmer Test

1. Oct 13, 2004 #1

Zurtex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I'm trying to come up with a program that works out Mersenne prime numbers, I've successfully managed to get one to work that brute force attacks the problem and gets me up to 2^2281 - 1 as about the highest prime I can get with the computer still running fine.

I've been reading up and it seems one of the best ways is to use the Lucas-Lehmer Test (http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Lucas-LehmerTest.html) however I am fairly new to matlab and don't quite seem to get it to work. Could anyone give me some points where I am going wrong please.

(Below is code I have used to test if 2^p - 1 is prime or not)
    (z records the biggest value of p such that 2^p - 1 is prime)
    Code (Text):

p=sym(2)

for p=2:100
        if issymprime(p)==sym('true')
            s = 4
            for s=4:(p-2)
                s = mod(s^2 - 2,2^p -1)
            end
            if s==mod(0,2^p-1)
                z=p
            end
        end
    end

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2004 #2

Zurtex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

O.K just noticed a huge mistake in my programming, but can I leave the thread here for a sec in case it is still horribly wrong?

4. Oct 13, 2004 #3

Zurtex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Really sorry for the triple post but I've got it to work with a slight problem:

Code (Text):

p=sym(2)

for p=2:40
        if issymprime(p)==sym('true')
            s = 1
            r = 4
            for s=1:(p-2)
                r = mod(r^2 - 2,2^p -1)
            end
            if r==mod(0,2^p-1)
                z=p
            end
        end
    end