Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Lucas-Lehmer Test

1. Oct 13, 2004 #1

Zurtex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I'm trying to come up with a program that works out Mersenne prime numbers, I've successfully managed to get one to work that brute force attacks the problem and gets me up to 2^2281 - 1 as about the highest prime I can get with the computer still running fine.

I've been reading up and it seems one of the best ways is to use the Lucas-Lehmer Test (http://mathworld.wolfram.com/Lucas-LehmerTest.html) however I am fairly new to matlab and don't quite seem to get it to work. Could anyone give me some points where I am going wrong please.

(Below is code I have used to test if 2^p - 1 is prime or not)
    (z records the biggest value of p such that 2^p - 1 is prime)
    Code (Text):

p=sym(2)

for p=2:100
        if issymprime(p)==sym('true')
            s = 4
            for s=4:(p-2)
                s = mod(s^2 - 2,2^p -1)
            end
            if s==mod(0,2^p-1)
                z=p
            end
        end
    end

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 13, 2004 #2

Zurtex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

O.K just noticed a huge mistake in my programming, but can I leave the thread here for a sec in case it is still horribly wrong?

4. Oct 13, 2004 #3

Zurtex

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Really sorry for the triple post but I've got it to work with a slight problem:

Code (Text):

p=sym(2)

for p=2:40
        if issymprime(p)==sym('true')
            s = 1
            r = 4
            for s=1:(p-2)
                r = mod(r^2 - 2,2^p -1)
            end
            if r==mod(0,2^p-1)
                z=p
            end
        end
    end

That works, up to about 2^19 - 1, however after that it doesn't seem to pick anymore Mersenne prime numbers up. Could someone tell me what to do please.

Last edited: Oct 13, 2004