1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Magnetic bottle

1. Apr 29, 2008 #1
    I was wondering about a good application to plot the path of a particle in a magnetic bottle (i.e. the magnetic field in the region between two coaxial circular loops of wire)

I was thinking that maybe I could use Biot Savert's (sp.) law

[tex]d\textbf{B} = \frac{\mu_0}{4\pi} \frac{Id\textbf{l} \times \textbf{\hat{r}}}{r^2}[/tex]

and

[tex]d\textbf{F} = q\textbf{v} \times d\textbf{B}[/tex]

but, as I mentioned earlier, I don't have a good application for that. Worse comes the worse, I could try and write a program to do it, but

1. I don't know what method of approximation to use, and
    2. I'm not very good at coding.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 29, 2008 #2
    Thats a surprisingly complex situation; you won't be able to plot it analytically unless you take some drastic approximations.
    I suggest... either you find an animation of it online (shouldn't be hard). Or you learn to code and find a numerical solution.

4. Apr 29, 2008 #3
    err... I know how to code, but I can never seem to get my programs to work right. I know java, but I'm not sure if that's the best language to use for this. Any ideas?

5. Apr 30, 2008 #4
    I've used java and C++, and i find java to work well for programming simulations (at least for my purposes). The problem is going to be plotting in 3D. Java 2D works great, but i hear that 3D is pretty rough (though i've never tried it).

6. Apr 30, 2008 #5
    Ok, then, I'll look into java 3d. But what method(s) should I use for approximation?

7. Apr 30, 2008 #6
    Well, make the loops perfectly conducting, with a fixed constant current in each (should be going in the same direction).