Explaining Magnetic Force on Iron Without Moving Charge

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of ferromagnetism and how magnetic forces are exerted between magnets or a magnet and a piece of iron. The direction of the magnetic field and the resulting force are explained through the concept of magnetic dipoles and the energy associated with them. The conversation also touches on the differences between a force-based and energy-based description of magnetic forces.
Christopher R
Hi, I am a high school physics student and the only ways we learned to calculate the magnitude of a magnetic force involved a moving charge or current in a wire. As a result I have wondered how a bar magnetic magnet may exert a force on a piece of iron, since there is no clear movement of charge on the iron. If anyone here could explain this that would be amazing, although I fear it's probably going to be some complicated stuff with electrons. :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to Physics Forums!

Ferromagnetism is the magic word. :cool: Go to

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ferromagnetism

and scroll down to the section Explanation. (Origin of magnetism, etc.) That should get you started. When you get stuck, feel free to ask questions here and someone can probably get you unstuck.

I sort of understand how the domains can allign and create a net magnetic field, but I'm still not sure how the actual attraction occurs. Like when the north end of a magnet is attracted to the south end of another, the direction of the magnetic field is on the same line as the direction of the force, but I thought that the resulting force is always perpindicular to the magnetic field. Is the force attracting magnets just fundamentally different than the magnetic force on moving charges?