Calculating Magnetic Levitation Strength for a 1kg Object

In summary, the conversation discusses the building of a magnetic levitation display. The necessary setups include a strong neodymium magnet, 4 electromagnets, Hall effect sensors, and a temperature sensor. The algorithm used for control is a PID controller. The strength of the magnet needed for levitating a 1kg object is calculated using a repel force calculator. Various resources and references for building such a device are also shared.
navivanuva
Hi all,
Newbie here.. I am interested in making a magnetic leviation display like in this video:

My question is what are the necessary setups?
I know that I would need a strong magnet like neodymium magnet. But, i have no idea about the formula. Let's say i want to levitate a 1kg object, how strong should the magnet be? (In Tesla maybe?). Thanks :D

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi navivanuva,

How coincidental, I just subscribed to this forum to get answers, while I try to build this kind of device !

My goal would be to levitate a 2kg object using two of these devices. As you just started a topic here, do you mind if we share the topic to compile our findings ? If you prefer that I start my own topic it is ok, just tell me.For now, here is what I found (and understood) on the subject :

The device is composed of :
- One big (100mm diameter) ring magnet in the base, which if I understood correctly can be a "weak" (and cheap!) ferrite magnet, as it does not provide the strength to levitate but only a "base" receiving the floating magnet strength. (sorry for this description which probably contains absolutely no exact scientific terminology, I am a beginner ;-))
- Inside the ring magnet's hole, 4 electromagnets (copper coils with an iron core), responsible for correcting the floating magnet's position. 2 coils act as a x-axis actuator (moving floating magnet to the left/right), while the 2 others act as a y-axis actuator.