1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Major GPA vs Cumulative GPA?

1. Oct 7, 2013 #1
    So today I found out that I am not good at my electives.

Do employers care more about cumulative GPA or my major GPA?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2013 #2
    From what I've been told, it hurts, but not as much as bad grades in major. So a guy with a 4.0 is going to have an edge over you, even if you have the same major gpa, but it's a small edge.

Also it depends on the elective. If it's French poetry, getting a B might not raise an eyebrow like a B in Applied Partial Differential equations or C++ programming or what have you will.

4. Oct 7, 2013 #3
    Electives: literature, politics, and geography.

Discipline: computer engineering

Thanks for the heads-up.

5. Oct 7, 2013 #4
    As long as you're not failing them people probably won't give a rats behind, but please don't get C's in easy classes, if that's what you're doing. You'll seriously regret it later.

6. Oct 7, 2013 #5

AlephZero

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Don't pick subjects where the "right answers" are a matter of personal opinion (e.g. literature and politics). Or if you do pick subjects like that, figure out what opinions your lecturer wants you to have, and don't waste time thinking for yourself!

7. Oct 8, 2013 #6

jasonRF

Science Advisor
    Gold Member