Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Manifold question?

1. Mar 2, 2005 #1
    Is the manifold a space defined by the metric tensor or is it a completetly different thing. I'm new to tensor analysis though.

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 2, 2005 #2

dextercioby

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. Mar 2, 2005 #3

jcsd

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

No, infact a manifold doesn't necessarily need to have a (global) metric dfeined in order to be a manifold! A manifold is basically anything that can be continously parameterized or more formally, is a set of points where every point has an open neighbourhood that is homeomorphic to Rn (where n is the dimension of the manifold). The metric tensor field defines the scalar product at each point on a manifold, it doesn't define the manifold as a manifold is still a manifold whether the scalar product is defined or not.

5. Mar 2, 2005 #4

gvk

For comfort, think about manifold as a curve or surface embedded in 3D space. And work hard to know everything about those stuff including n-D hypersurfaces, Gauss curvature, Riemannian curvature, and parallel transport, you be ready to step up to the manifold's world without metric.

6. Mar 2, 2005 #5

jcsd

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Actually gvk things like curvature and parallel transport dpend on the properties of the metric tensor, a mainofld at it's most basic is really just a set o fpoitns where for each point we have set of other points which are 'near to it'.

7. Mar 2, 2005 #6
    re

that makes more sense now, so basically the parametric equations define a manifold.

"Actually gvk things like curvature and parallel transport dpend on the properties of the metric tensor, a mainofld at it's most basic is really just a set o fpoitns where for each point we have set of other points which are 'near to it "