Calculate Marginal Benefit: Point A & B | Microeconomics

• Thread starter F.B
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Marginal
In summary, The speaker is seeking help with understanding marginal cost and marginal benefit in relation to production possibility frontiers in microeconomics. They have calculated the marginal cost at two points, but are unsure of how to find the marginal benefit without additional information such as a utility function or table with utility data.
F.B
i know this is not exactly where you post help questions but i really need it.
heres my questions.

I just started learning microeconomics and i am already confused. I was reading production possibility frontiers and how marginal cost and marginal benefit are related. I know that marginal cost is the slope of the PPF, and by doing this i get graph a marginal cost curve, but how do i calculate marginal benefits. I'll put some numbers.

Point A is (0, 15) and Point B is (1,14)
Marginal cost= 14-15/1-0 = -1

Now how do i find marginal benefit at these two points. I am trying to draw the marginal benefit curve.
If you need more points, then tell me and i will post them.

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you given a utility function? or a table with any utility data for a given amount of consumption?

I understand your confusion about calculating marginal benefit. It is important to understand that marginal benefit is not a specific point on a graph, but rather a concept that describes the additional benefit gained from producing one more unit of a good or service. This means that marginal benefit is subjective and can vary for different individuals or firms.