1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Markham kid really confused

1. Feb 10, 2009 #1
    Hello all, allow me to introduce myself. I am a Grade 11 student from Markham, Ontario. I'm very interested in science and enjoy physics a lot. My average is about 86 - 87 %. I have several questions that have been bothering me. I hope anyone with experience on these issues can shed some light for me.

1. I'm thinking of picking mechanical, electrical, or mechatronics as my field in university. I'm leaning towards mechatronics as you can learn from both electrical and mechanical. Which one should I pick if my grades and job availability were taken into account?

2. How is the job market for each of the fields mentioned above? Will it be hard for me to land a job after I graduate?

3. Between The University of Waterloo and The University of Toronto, which would be a better choice for me and why. Feel free to mention other Universities that would be a wiser choice provided that they are in Ontario.

4. With my grades, what are the odds of me being accepted on a 1 - 10 scale? 10 being guaranteed acceptance.

5. I heard Electrical engineering is really difficult and many people drop out; is this true?

Thank you all in advance for your input. As you can tell, I am quite confused on what I want to do in the future.

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 11, 2009 #2