What is the Breakdown of the Milky Way's Mass?

In summary, the conversation discussed the breakdown of the mass of the Milky Way, with one person providing a summary of their calculations and asking for feedback on the accuracy of their estimates. The other person pointed out errors and uncertainties in the calculations, particularly with the variables of solar mass and molecular cloud mass. The conversation also touched upon the concept of dark matter and how it was originally thought to be explained by massive compact halo objects, but further research has shown that they do not account for the mass deficit.
JoeOfTexas
I have never seen a breakdown of the mass of the Milky Way, so I attempted to do it myself.

My horrible estimates left me with 5x1040 mass of unknown origin, which is about 3% of the overall galaxy's mass. It appears the 3% could be explained if the estimates were a bit more accurate.

I'm just an amateur, so please let me know which variables cannot work and why. Thanks!--------------------------------------------------------------Here is my breakdown:

Variables

Solar Mass = 2 x 1030 kg
Averaged to 2 from 1.989

Solar Lifetime = 109 years = (3 x 1017) seconds
Used for every star

Solar Mass to Energy emitted = (4 x 109) kg/sec
Source: http://www.Newton.dep.anl.gov/askasci/ast99/ast99441.htm

Milky Way Diameter = 100,000 light years

Milky Way Thickness = 1,000 light years

Milky Way Age = 13.2 x 1011 years = (4.17 x 1019) seconds

Milky Way Mass = 8.5 x 1011 solar masses = (8.5 x 1011) (2 x 1030) = (17 x 1041) kg

Milky Way Star Count = 200 to 400 billion stars = (300 billion midrange) = (3 x 1011) stars
300 billion seems safe to use

Milky Way Planet Count = 100 billion planets
from Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Milky_Way#Stars_and_planets

Electromagnetic Radiation Mass

ER mass of all stars emitted per second = (4 x 109) (3 x 1011) = (4 x 109) (300 x 109) = (12 x 1020) kg/sec
Using our sun as an average for all stars