Masters in Math for 3rd Year Math Student - How to Get In

• Thread starter rad0786
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Master
In summary: I don't know. If I were single, I would love to be at Brock (where I am now).Lots of hot girls here. There is so many good looking girls here so that you never have to look back to check one out because there is already another right in front of...you.I think it ultimately comes down to what you're looking for in a school. If you're looking for a really academically rigorous program, then you might not be satisfied with Waterloo. If you're looking for a more social atmosphere, then I think Brock would be a great choice.
rad0786
I am a 3rd year math student (taking mostly applied math courses)

I really want to do a masters...my GPA is between B+ and A-.

B+ is usually the required MINIMUM so I need to pull my socks up :uhh:

So is it really hard to get into Grad school? I'm streesed because I don't think ill make it... ( I also don't have any academic references)

So tell me, what do grad schools look at? should I apply to like 10 different schools? could I do only class work and no research?

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, there's no doubt you'll be able to get into a grad school with a B+ average...but it might be tough to get into a TOP Grad school without good gre scores, letters of recommendation and some research experience.

Damn...

I just want to go as far as a master's and THAT's IT! I don't really care how I get it...but I would like to do it!

Another Question:

Does a Math Major HAVE to do his/her masters in MATH?

Is it possible to do a masters in an outside field?

rad0786 said:
Another Question:

Does a Math Major HAVE to do his/her masters in MATH?

Is it possible to do a masters in an outside field?

you can certainly do a masters in a different yet related field, such as physics. However, chances are you will need to take some additional undergrad classes in the process.

leright said: