1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Master in Math Question

1. Oct 5, 2006 #1
    I am a 3rd year math student (taking mostly applied math courses)

I really want to do a masters...my GPA is between B+ and A-.

B+ is usually the required MINIMUM so I need to pull my socks up :uhh:

So is it really hard to get into Grad school? I'm streesed because I don't think ill make it... ( I also don't have any academic references)

So tell me, what do grad schools look at? should I apply to like 10 different schools? could I do only class work and no research?
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 5, 2006 #2
    Well, there's no doubt you'll be able to get into a grad school with a B+ average....but it might be tough to get into a TOP Grad school without good gre scores, letters of recommendation and some research experience.
  4. Oct 5, 2006 #3

I just want to go as far as a master's and THAT's IT! I don't really care how I get it...but I would like to do it!
  5. Oct 5, 2006 #4
    Another Question:

Does a Math Major HAVE to do his/her masters in MATH?

Is it possible to do a masters in an outside feild?
  6. Oct 5, 2006 #5
    you can certainly do a masters in a different yet related field, such as physics. However, chances are you will need to take some additional undergrad classes in the process.
  7. Oct 6, 2006 #6
    If you haven't taken any physics during undergrad, it would probably be one of the most difficult things to switch into. Understanding mathematics will help in physics (it can also cause some frustration, given how things are typically presented in physics classes!), but overall it's an entirely different ballgame.
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2006
  8. Oct 6, 2006 #7
    I would NEVER consider doing a masters in Physics.