1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Master's in Math what to do?

Tags:
  1. Nov 23, 2013 #1
    Hi,

I am an undergrad math major (minor in applied stats) set to graduate next month. I have been considering graduate school for a long time, and I know I want to pursue at least a Master's in the near future.

For a while, I wanted to pursue a Master's in Applied Statistics and aim for a corporate career in analysis. However, this past summer, I worked as an intern at a large company and came to the realization that the corporate setting was not for me.
    I now know that I want to further my education in Mathematics, and it's a goal of mine to attend the University of Michigan's Master's program for Mathematics. However, it is not feasible for me to apply for U of M (for Fall 2014) as I have yet to take my Math Subject GRE, and the next test date is April of next year- which is too late.

My goal, then, is to apply for the Fall 2015 semester, but this will leave me with 1.5 years of no school in between. I guess my main question is what should I do in the meantime to better my chances of being accepted?
    I have taken the following upper level math courses:
    Abstract Algebra
    Combinatorics
    Numerical Analysis
    Real Analysis 1
    Stochastic Processes
    Complex Variables
    Linear Algebra
    Mathematical Modeling

and my current cumulative GPA is 3.56.

I know that I'm not up there on the GPA scale and it doesn't help that I don't have any research experience, and I'm afraid this will greatly hinder my chances of being admitted to U of M's Master's program.
    Can anyone give me advice on what to do from here? How can I better my chances of getting in?