1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math curriculum for physicist

1. Jun 11, 2009 #1
    I am a high school student who wants to become a physicist. I know that after ap calculus bc you can go right into calculus 3/multivariable calc and diffeqs, then you take linear algebra. what typically comes after that for a theoretical physicist? for an experimental physicist?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 11, 2009 #2

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Two more standard mathematical topics: complex analysis, abstract algebra.

4. Jun 11, 2009 #3
    alright , then where do stuff like partial diffeqs come in?

5. Jun 11, 2009 #4

dx

Homework Helper
    Gold Member

I thought you included that under diff eqs. There's also vector analysis, fourier series, calculus of variations etc. usually combined into a "mathematical methods for physics" class.

6. Jun 11, 2009 #5
    Lolgarithms, this is an excellent question. I would say that beyond the standard sequence of four semesters of calculus plus linear algebra (which is usually included in differential equations), nothing is absolutely essential. In fact, nothing beyond second semester calculus is used all that frequently. Oh sure, I've had to conceptually understand multivariable calculus, but the last time I had to parametrize a curve or surface and explicitly calculate a line integral or surface integral was way back in my freshman year of college, when I took multivariable. Most of the advanced math you need for physics will be taught in your physics classes. Most physics departments also make undergrads take one advanced math course. Beyond that, you don't really need any additional math. I took a lot of math, but only because I was also a math major.