1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math for physics

1. Jan 26, 2009 #1
    I have a degree in electrical engineering, but of some years ago.
    For my own simple enjoyment, I wanted to learn the math of physics - specifically for cosmology. Key to my interest is the interpretation of the math in the physical world. In summary, what is the track in math topics?

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 26, 2009 #2
    Calculus and lots of it.

4. Jan 31, 2009 #3
    Haha. That's a rather obvious answer, considering my degree. I'm sure that there is a more concise list. There has to be some one or some book that conveys what the math means in terms of a physical reality.

But considering that there has not been another answer to this, perhaps the question is poor. Explaining why or how its poor would be a help.

For those who at least looked at it - thanks. And to FunkyDwarf, a special thanks for responding.

5. Feb 1, 2009 #4