1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math for QM

1. Apr 18, 2012 #1
    These are the contents of the books I'm going to be reading to prepare myself for Quantum Mechanics. I was wondering if there any chapters that are not really necessary to learn. For instance, in studying Calculus it seems unlikely to me that infinite series will every be useful, though I might be wrong. I would like to eventually try Particle Physics, Nuclear Physics and Quantum Field Theory and a few basic of String Theory, so if there is some math in these books that is not needed for QM but is needed for the other physics then I should study that too. All this is for my own personal enjoyment and I'm studying it not because I want to be a physicist but because I want to understand the math behind the Big Bang, Cosmology, the Multiverse and the Fine-Tuning Argument.

Also I realize that more math is needed for physics beyond QM. I'm not worried about that now.

Screenshot2012-04-10at103604PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-10at103616PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-10at103628PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-18at41831PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-18at41838PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-18at41841PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-18at30607PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-18at30623PM.png

Screenshot2012-04-18at30634PM.png

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 18, 2012 #2
    There are too many chapters there that are unnecessary to learn to even list them all. Actually, to some extent, it's a matter of taste or what you want to do with it. I'm not sure the books you are looking at are going to be a very effective way to learn it. Maybe try Susskind's lectures.