1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math Math MATH!

1. Jul 15, 2004 #1
    I was thinking of a career in engineering, but now that i think of it , not anymore, i love physics, i can do physics with no problems, but math....thats a different story, i dont know wut the hell is wrong with me, i'v had a calculus test on Limits yesterday and i studied the night before four about 5 hours (reading over notes, mostly practicing lots of problems), and then i get 70% on the test.... this is really getting on my nerves and im thinking of dropping the course, we are now doing derivatives and im doing that fine, but today my teacher introduced the chain rule, and now my head is about to explode from trying to figure that out. I do lots of problems so i can be ready for my tests. My teacher puts questions similar to the ones she assigns for homework, but puts about 3 questions that are really hard, and she makes those questions worth more than all of the other questiosn put togther... its not like i cant do them, but they confuse me because i'v been practicing something and something like that comes in and messes me up...

Is there anything i can do to better help me prepare for math tests, or is math just not for me.... i mean i like math, and i love physics, im good at physics, but i suck at math...how would this effect my choice of career in engineering...

Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2004 #2

chroot

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Sounds like you need a patient tutor. Pay one if you have to.

- Warren

4. Jul 15, 2004 #3

BobG

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper