Navigating Grad School App: Math vs. Physics Focus at School

In summary, the student is a second-year student at a school with a strong math department but not a strong theoretical physics department. They plan on going to grad school in theoretical physics but are unsure about their course choices and the impact of having more math courses than physics courses. They are also questioning if a recommendation from their adviser, whom they haven't taken a class with, will be beneficial for their grad school application. The advisor's letter may not have as much weight as a letter from a physics professor who can comment on their research abilities and potential.
ehrenfest
I am a second-year student and I go to a school with a not-so-strong theoretical physics department but a very strong math department. I am planning on going to grad school in theoretical physics.

I will have completed the physics major at the end of this semester and I am deciding which courses to take in the spring.

Will it look bad on my grad school application if I have a 5 to 1 ratio of math to physics courses and I write a senior thesis in math not physics and have recommendations from only math professors?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
If you plan on going into theoretical physics, then it should not hurt you to have a strong basis in maths. However, you should still try and take some physics/mathematical physics (relativity, QM, etc..)

Also, I would say that you should have at least one letter from a physics professor if your planning on going to grad school for physics.

G01 said:
Also, I would say that you should have at least one letter from a physics professor if your planning on going to grad school for physics.

Does my adviser, who I haven't taken a class with, count?

ehrenfest said:
Does my adviser, who I haven't taken a class with, count?