Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Math software questions .

1. Mar 24, 2005 #1
    Math software questions.....

I was just wondering what practical applications using programs like Maple, Matlab and Mathcad have? I want to learn one (maybe all) of these programs, but I'm not exactly sure what they do...how are they helpful in doing research? Why are they so valuable? Any input is good, since I'm new to the math software, so just chuck it out there....

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 24, 2005 #2

PerennialII

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

In doing research complex tasks can be performed far more quickly, with less errors, and are overall possible within a reasonable timespan ... I'd suggest you visit the official websites, they've a number of "case studies" and examples on practical applications ... unless you've some specific in mind (I'm finding it difficult to convert to words that I spend pretty much 24/7 with these and related software, doing pretty much all tasks with them :biggrin: ) ?.

4. Mar 24, 2005 #3

graphic7

Gold Member

In depends on what you generally want. If you're wishing to become an engineer, you'll probably run across Matlab more times that you'd care to. If you're still in school, Maple seems to be the choice of most students. There's also Mathematica, which is much more complex than Maple, that researchers tend to use for various fields.

I'll give you a run-down of the features of each. Matlab has excellent matrix operation algorithms as well as support for interfacing with scientific devices. Matlab does have a CAS, however, it does not have any sort of "pretty-print" support that I'm aware of, at least. Generally, Matlab is used for ODE solving and calculations involving matrices.