Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematic Help

1. Apr 19, 2008 #1

I'm using mathematic (NDSolve) to solve a series of PDEs, which I have successfully done. Now I would like to export the data so that I can make a graph in Excel (I know I can plot the results in Mathematica (and I have) but I would like to be able to export it to Excel, as I am a novice in Mathematica. How can I export the data so that I have columns of data corresponding to my x variable and the series of y variables? Thanks in advance.
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 19, 2008 #2

Staff: Mentor

It is not real easy to do. The best thing that I can recommend is to paste it into a text file, remove the braces, and import it into excel as comma separated values.

But I would strongly recommend learning the Mathematica plotting features, it will be well worth your time.
  4. Apr 20, 2008 #3

Homework Helper

Hi knwest,

Here is a quick way to do it for x and one y value that I think is understandable. Let's say that you have solved the DE with the statement (just to think of a random problem):

Code (Text):

result=NDSolve[{y''[x]+5 x ==0,y[0]==3,y[2]==5,y,{x,0,2}]
    so that x varies from 0 to 2. If you want to plot it in mathematica you can just use:

Code (Text):

If you want to write out a text file of 101 values that has two columns separated by several spaces, here is a straightforward way to do it:

Code (Text):

yvalues=Table[ (y[x]/.result)[[1]],{x,0,2,(2-0)/100.}]

WriteString[filename,xvalues[[i]],"     ",yvalues[[i]],"\n"]
    As you get more experience with mathematica I would suggest getting rid of the do loops with other methods (I prefer MapThread, for example). (I find Mathematica is very enjoyable for learning how to do things in new ways.)