Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematica error

1. Dec 17, 2011 #1
    Hey all,

I'm very new to Mathematica, so I'm looking for some help here. I'm writing an elementary program using a "For" loop, and getting this error message: "Sum::write: Tag Plus in i-1 is Protected. >>" Any ideas what might be wrong?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 17, 2011 #2

Dale

Staff: Mentor

Usually it means you have an expression like this:
    i-1=5

Perhaps you meant something like:
    i-1==5

4. Dec 17, 2011 #3
    Hmm, I tried fixing that, but I had no luck. Any chance you could take a look at my code?

5. Dec 19, 2011 #4
    Simplify your notebook as much as you can to demonstrate just what you are having a problem with, not include irrelevant detail, but include everything so that someone else can reproduce exactly the problem you have.

If what is left is small enough you can select a cell and then click Edit, Copy As, Plain Text. Then paste into a message here. What you are trying to accomplish is to post something that someone can glance at, scrape off the screen, paste into their Mathematica and reproduce your problem exactly. You are trying to avoid introduce problems by you typing it back in or forcing someone who is trying to help you to have to type it back in. And you want to avoid an assortment of problems with "special characters" when copying between Mathematica and the forum. If, after you post, you can scrape off the forum, paste into a fresh Mathematica session and see the exact same problem then you are probably getting close.

If you just can't get your complete problem small enough then you can attach a notebook to a posting.