Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematica help.

1. Feb 5, 2008 #1
    can someone help me out with a mathematica problem ( i use mathematica 6)? I have never used this program before and really don't know what to do or where to start. So if someone could give me a little light that would be great.

-last graph is g(x,y)=
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 5, 2008 #2

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

These must have been produced by Plot3D in Math'ca.

For example,

Plot3D[Cos[x y], {x, -3 \[Pi], 3 \[Pi]}, {y, -3 \[Pi], 3 \[Pi]}]

then shift+enter.

First thing I'd do is to hold & rotate the graph to change the ViewPoint.

To change it explicitly, you can type for example:

Plot3D[Cos[x y], {x, -3 \[Pi], 3 \[Pi]}, {y, -3 \[Pi], 3 \[Pi]}, ViewPoint -> {-1, 0, -3}]

Another thing to try is to change the plot limits from {x, -3 \[Pi], 3 \[Pi]} to (say) {x, -\[Pi], \[Pi]} (same for y).
  4. Feb 5, 2008 #3
    ok thanks for the reply. my question is, it says make surface and contour plots for suitable intervals, viewpoints, and resolutions. For example f(x,y) = cos(xy) for -3pi <= x,y <= 3pi , that is 1 of the equations for the question. So to make surface and contour plots(many of them) do I just plug other numbers in for -3pi and 3pi? Confused on what I need to do.
  5. Feb 5, 2008 #4

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

You should make a surface plot and a contour plot for:

a. suitable intervals,

b. suitable viewpoints, and

c. suitable resolutions

for each function f, g, etc.

"Plugging other numbers in for -3pi and 3pi" addresses item a.
  6. Feb 5, 2008 #5
    i've got it all down now except the resolutions. I have tried searching for it on google and mathematica and i can't find anything on how to do it. It says. to draw surface and contour plots for resolutions. I dont know what that means? can someone explain?