Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematica Issue - Help!

Tags:
  1. Nov 4, 2013 #1
    Mathematica Issue -- Help!

Hello! I am new to Mathematica and i tried to solve a non linear second order ode... The result is that nothing happens... I mean that i get as output the same line as i write in input.. For example, my problem is: (thats what i get)

In[33]:= DSolve[ g - b x - c y[x] - f y[x]^2 + a Derivative[1][y][x]^2 +
    d (y^\[Prime]\[Prime])[x] + a y[x] (y^\[Prime]\[Prime])[x] == 0,
    y[x], x]

Out[33]= DSolve[ g - b x - c y[x] - f y[x]^2 + a Derivative[1][y][x]^2 +
    d (y^\[Prime]\[Prime])[x] + a y[x] (y^\[Prime]\[Prime])[x] == 0,
    y[x], x]

What am i doin wrong? Or maybe that means that it cant be solved? I dont want a numerical solution but an exact analytical one (if there exists)...
    And btw g,b,c,f,a are constants.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 4, 2013 #2

Dale

Staff: Mentor

That is what happens when there is no known analytical solution. You will have to solve it numerically.

However, you may have entered it in incorrectly. What are you trying to solve?

4. Nov 4, 2013 #3
    i am tryin to solve this (sorry i am not good writin it in latex):

d*y''(x)+a*y(x)*y''(x)+a*(y'(x))^2-b*x-c*y(x)-f*(y(x))^2-g=0

as i said before, d,a,c,b,g are arbitrary constants...
    Am i writing this wrong, or there is not analytical solutions?

5. Nov 4, 2013 #4
    For Mathematica questions showing "plain Mathematica" is usually better than Latex so that someone doesn't have to undo all the work you just did to turn it into Latex just to get it back into Mathematica.

Mathematica can easily solve this

In[1]:= DSolve[a*y''[x] + b*y'[x] + c*y[x] + d == 0, y[x], x]

Out[1]= {{y[x]->-(d/c)+E^(((-b-Sqrt[b^2 -4a c])x)/(2a))C[1] + E^(((-b+Sqrt[b^2-4a c])x)/(2 a)) C[2]}}

but not this

In[2]:= DSolve[a*y''[x] + b*y'[x] + c*y[x]^2 + d == 0, y[x], x]