1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Mathematical Fluid Dynamics

1. Nov 10, 2013 #1
    Hi guys,

I studied mechanical engineering and I am currently a graduate student (turbulence modeling).

I am interested in the more formal/mathematical aspects of fluid dynamics, which are mainly worked in mathematical faculties and I would like to know if someone knows/have an idea about how difficult is, for someone with an engineering background to switch from numerical/applied research to more analytical/formal mathematical fluid dynamics research.

There is someone there working in mathematical fluid dynamics?..

I thank you in advance for any answer...

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 11, 2013 #2

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

I have only peripheral exposure to mathematical fluids dynamics research- the current work I see has a lot of functional analysis and differential geometry. Some relevant texts you may wish to consult:

Pozrikidis "Introduction to theoretical and computational fluid mechanics", aimed at the advanced undergrad/grad
    Holmes, Lumley, Berkooz, Rowley "Turbulence, Coherent structures, Dynamical systems and Symmetry"
    Lions "Mathematical topics in fluid mechanics"
    Galdi, Rannacher, Robertson and Turek "Hemodynamical flows: Modeling, Analysis and Simulation"

4. Nov 11, 2013 #3

SteamKing

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper