Mathematics classes for MHD/Plasma Physics(maybe Fusion)

In summary, if you are interested in working in fusion energy, it is important to have a strong background in math and physics, including courses like topology and metric spaces, complex analysis, and potentially computer science courses for practical skills.
Leb
Hello all,

I am wondering if I could get some advice from people who have done MHD/Plasma Physics (or even better, went to do something like 'MSc in Fusion Energy' which is offered by York University). Ideally I would like to work somewhere with fusion energy (although it is vastly dominated by engineers...)

I am a third year undergraduate doing a joint degree in Physics and Mathematics. The courses from Mathematics I can choose(Physics courses are compulsory) to do are:
Topology and Metric Spaces(SM1) 2cr
Analysis and Differentiation (pre-requisite for Complex analysis) 1cr
Mathematical Methods(basically DE's)(SM1) 2cr
Algebra(SM2) 2cr
Some Dynamics courses (SM2)3cr
Some 'Project skill course' 1cr

The problem is, due to credit restrictions, I am only allowed to take a certain amount of courses.
I need to have 6cr in total. Now, I would love to take Topology and Metric Spaces course, but I would have to drop the two analysis courses (I am not sure to what extent I would use Complex Analysis taught by a Maths department, although I was told that I would need a good amount of Complex Analysis in any branch of physics to do with particles).

Thank you for your time.

Physics news on Phys.org